top of page
Search
  • melstein

Mel's Meanderings. New World Day 14

This is a big day for me. I am now officially a grown-up. I am posting my own blog without the technical support of my daughter-in-law. Just read Sam's blog for the day so if an 11 year old can do it why can't a 70+? ( Did you really think I was going to tell you my exact age? I'll leave that sort of exposure to 94 year old Isabella .... she was getting a bit peeved about her lack of a mention for a few days anyway ) As for my question regarding age-related technology ability I think you already know the answer to that.


I was so outraged when i wrote yesterday's blog that I even forgot to mention what i was outraged about. Namely the fact that there was no edition of " The Archers " on Friday. I mean, an announcer did come on and sang " Dum de dum de dum de dum " but he then went straight on to ' Front Row' . Given I never listen to Radio 4 except for ' The Archers ' (Virgin or Radio 2 or at a push BBC6 Music that was it for me. And now we are told there are to be no more Friday episodes so after Thursday there will be that long wait till Sunday. Given that Friday was always cliff-hanger night that might be harder to bear than the loss of Football, Cricket and Horse-Racing and now almost certainly Wimbledon. Mind you, ITV is going to run a virtual Grand National including Red Rum, but am thinking it might not be quite the same as the real thing. Back to Ambridge.


I did listen to last night's episode and there's still no sign of any virus in the village. But with the village disappearing with all its inhabitants for 3 days a week it's more like Midsomer Murders than anything else. So, the virus. The elephant in the room. Mind you, an elephant in the room is probably less dangerous so have a sign up in my window now ( replacing the one asking for a quieter neighbourhood as I seem to have achieved that ) inviting all local elephants in for tea. Am posting the invite on all social media and making trunk calls as well ( How many out of ten for that one Sam ? ) It does seem that they have enough Archers episodes in the can to last till 30th April so maybe it's not quite the end of the world as we know it

By the way you are going to have to excuse the odd paragraphing in the blog as it's not the friendliest of formats typing directly on to the link .


The Virus. I can't keep calling it that. Or even Covid-19 ( I mean what happened to the other 18 Covids? Maybe it's just lonely and missing its family ) I always give things a name. It drives my grandson mad. My car was called Arnie. All my cars have been called Arnie. It's just when I start calling the dishwasher Dennis, or the Washing Machine Walter he starts to think I have lost the plot. So, from now on its The Big V. ( the Big C has already been claimed )


And as more and more bloggers flock to the party ( Andrea and Sam have been joined by another of her friends ) I am feeling like the guy who started off with Betamax only to be overtaken by VHS and now we all have Sky boxes ( well a lot of us anyway ) and they've been overtaken by Sky Q . So my blogs remain firmly rooted in the grass roots of the game and i just have to accept that.




What i can't accept is the Media and The Government moving the goal-posts. You may recall I predicted an end by July 31st.Now, as a betting man I do have an account at Corals. My kids knew my account number off by heart when I called my bets in ( I remember Nicky when at Primary School writing up what he'd done on the weekend and saying he'd watched the racing on television with me and been allowed to pick a horse in each race. Slightly embarrassing when it came to Open Evening ) On the Coral's app there is an option to " Cash in " ( can't get this web-site to allow me to back space and get the quotation marks in the right place ) The effect of that is to lose a part of your stake, but protect the balance. I think I would be doing that on July 31st end date right now. I said I missed Cara's first birthday. Am thinking that by the time I see her in the flesh it will be to give her a lift to the disco ( or even her older brother's wedding )


Anyway, those lines I carved on the walls of my cell ( whoops, office ) at the start have got more ,rather than less, numerous. It's somewhat Kafkaesque. Those familiar with " The Trial " will know the line ' Somebody must have been telling lies about Joseph K " I think it then goes on to say because one morning he was arrested for no good reason. Guess that applies to all of us and continuing the Kafka analogy in " The Castle " there is an introduction of a parable of a search through doors where each door leads to another until a finale. I won't spoil it for you although I am only saying that because for the life of me i can't remember exactly what it says! But will try to check it out for tomorrow.



Read " doors " for " days to the End of the Big V " and you get what I mean. I had a bit of an asthma issue on Saturday which got me thinking that the really embarrassing thing would be to fall victim to a different affliction. I mean if you've got Cholera, Or Beri Beri. Or Ebola, or the ilk and you phone your GP and are told that they are only dealing with Big V patients and can you call back when you actually get it.


By the way on the food delivery front I did have a conversation ( well not exactly a conversation but a automated telephone call ) with my old friends Sainsburys and am hoping the information i gave them is sufficient to get a priority delivery.


Blog is a bit shorter than usual today as I am in demand for my legal services so I hope this has worked and i now need to consult my technical assistant to find a way to post this on Facebook.

47 views3 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 104. Judgement Day

So, I looked up my first blog which I wrote back in those panicky days of March. The opening line was, “ So, I am over 70 and Bojo has just sentenced me o a life behind bars” And now I am nearly 80 th

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 103

It’s amazing how you can know something and yet, not know something. One of my favourite songs ( and I’m sure it’s one of your as well, Isabella aged 94 and a half…she was a mere 94 when I began to im

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 102

I am writing this early on Sunday morning having been woken up before four today by flashing red lights and noise in the sky. I initially decided that having softened us up with the Big V this was a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page