top of page
Search
  • melstein

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 63

Had a very ironic phone call from my doctor’s surgery yesterday. They were checking up that there was nothing wrong with me so that I could come in for my B12 injection! How often is that you can only make an appointment at your GP if there is nothing wrong with you? Anyway, am all hyped up for my big day out.

I used to refuse to allow the nurse to stick a needle in me ( it’s a very big needle ) unless I got a sticker with a smiley face that said, “ I was a brave boy at the Doctor’s today “ I would stick it at the back of my phone to be yet another talking point alongside my Winnie the Pooh diary. Then I got a personalized leather case for my phone bearing my initials ( present from my sons ) and didn’t want to ruin it with a sticker. And anyhow, the NHS in all their wisdom, cut the budget at the GP so there were no more stickers. I tried making my own, but it just wasn’t the same thing. Bit like presenting oneself with a chocolate medal for bravery.

This going out business has thrown my schedule into chaos. How do I fit in a morning zoom service, my time on the tread-mill and the bike , my breakfast, shower and shave and an 11 30 am Board Meeting and lunch and a 4pm global meeting with my sports partners and my blog and the writing of my novel ? Goodness, I wonder how I ever found time to go to an office, or out for lunch or even get on a train and go up North for a meeting. And as for holidays how did I ever fit those in?

If you are getting the impression that I am suffering from FOGO ( Fear of Going Out ) then you are correct. I am beginning to understand recidivism amongst prisoners where the only place they feel safe is in their cells. So, they offend again and again and again. Maybe there are other Littler V’s out there to justify my staying in the sanctuary of my house and office, I mean, I’ve kind of got used to it now. Haven’t we all ?

Not feeling I am getting universal confirmation of that. Watched all day from my office window yesterday as car after car illegally parked on a yellow line, people tumbled out in party finery, some carrying folding chairs and food and made their way up the road to what appeared to be a party. Is this why we are furloughing folk? So they can frolic amidst fripperies? Think might try to turn that into a tongue-twister for Sam. Furloughing flippant folk follow folding chairs and food to frippery. Or, just maybe to something far worse. Is it just me who is getting angry and frustrated by what I see?

Isabella’s ( aged 94 ) son thought I had gone easy on Caretaker Cummings the other day. It’s incidents like the above that make his actions relative easy to forgive. I mean, politicians are like football referees, they all need their eyes tested.

I am loving the statistics coming out concerning the upsurge in demand for beer deliveries. London up 100%. Sheffield up 140%( not a lot else to do in Sheffield… in fact not a lot else to do anywhere ) Newcastle a very disappointing 150% ( come on, Geordies, you can do better than that ) and the winner is…. Glasgow up 200%. I mean, what did you expect. A predictable triumph. They may not be able to progress far in football’s European Cup, but give them a beer drinking competition and it’s a shoe-in.

So much theatre on tv now, but am still resisting as there is so much real tv. Loving “Ordinary People “ and feeling ashamed for being a bit snobby about the success of the book . This series of “ Killing Eve “ was said not to be up to its previous high standards, but I don’t agree. Compelling viewing as ever and it managed to give a reference to Pinner, where as far as I am aware psychotic contract killers are thin on the ground. Though I always thought that the miserable woman behind the counter in W.H.Smith was a bit suspect. And last, but most certainly not least the Israeli series, “ Shtiesel “ on Netflix. Whatever your religion or your background it’s truly amazing. And the daughter in it grows up to play the lead in “ Unorthodox “ another must-see. Homeland also started as an Israeli series, but I never took to the hero who was definitely no Damien Lewis. But, now my Homeland is over maybe I will revisit. I mean. I am not doing much else right now.

You may think I spend all my time watching tv, but to be honest come the evening I am fit for little else. As proof see above and what my day looks like. And then there is my bird spotting. I’ve moved on from pigeons. Or rather they seem to have moved on from my garden . To be replaced by two Robins. Red-breasted. Which is how I spotted them, having decided they were too small to be the pigeons in disguise. We think they may have a nest so as soon as the lock-down is over I may open my garden to the public.

I had a coughing fit last night. Felt like a frog in my throat. Went to get some water and lo and behold there was a frog in the kitchen. When we went to Bali a few years ago, we used to walk around the grounds of the hotel in the evening and there were, quite literally, dozens of frogs sitting staring up at the little lamps set around the pathways to show the way in the dark. They all looked like they were having a good evening’s viewing watching the Froggie equivalent of Eastenders or the like. Maybe “ Froggie went a Wooing “ containing adult material and nudity as the warning for Ordinary People always says. Have you ever seen a frog in clothes.

Anyway, the frog in our kitchen was also just staring up at the lights. My wife was tempted to kiss him in the hope he might turn into a prince, but instead put a washing up bowl over him, slid some cardboard under the bowl and delivered him safely into the garden. So, when you pay to see my garden and the birds there are also frogs on display as well. Not far short of a National Trust home now.

You didn’t realise, but there was a pause as went to the doc to get my B12 injection. I have a B12 deficency. The only problem is that I haven’t a clue what B12 is. Sounds a bit like something that American guy Musk would either call his space shuttle or his son . Injection duly done, anyway so am good till August 20th. Another hot date to put in my diary. So exciting.

It’s getting on and I need to push on. Jewish Festival of Shavuos tomorrow and Saturday as I mentioned yesterday so no blog till Sunday. And no work or writing either so need to squeeze in as much as I can today. Hope you don’t feel too short-changed. But as you don’t pay and the chocolate from Isabella is the only reward I have ever received for my efforts I don’t feel too guilty. Mind you, I rarely feel guilty about anything.

So, if you are Jewish have a nice Shavuos and a peaceful Sabbath , if you aren’t have a nice break from me. And whoever or whatever you are stay safe and see you all on Sunday if we are spared,

39 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 104. Judgement Day

So, I looked up my first blog which I wrote back in those panicky days of March. The opening line was, “ So, I am over 70 and Bojo has just sentenced me o a life behind bars” And now I am nearly 80 th

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 103

It’s amazing how you can know something and yet, not know something. One of my favourite songs ( and I’m sure it’s one of your as well, Isabella aged 94 and a half…she was a mere 94 when I began to im

Mel's Meanderings Brave New World Day 102

I am writing this early on Sunday morning having been woken up before four today by flashing red lights and noise in the sky. I initially decided that having softened us up with the Big V this was a

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page